Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
99 civic ex
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been running though the forums now for a couple of months and I think I want to run with this set up. Hope to keep it in the 10.5:1 neighborhood. I’ve got a nice chunk of change saved up and I want to do this right. I’ve built several Honda sohc motorcycle engines over the years, but I am no expert when it comes to fuel injection, or heavily moded engines.

Y8 block bored 0.5mm over
A6 pistons
Stock rods cryo, shot preened, and Arp rod bolts
Y8 head w/ Endyn p&p
OEM head gasket
Crower stage 2 cam
Zex springs & ti retainers
Rc balanced stock injectors
Skunk 2 intake mani
65-62mm tapered throttle

I already have a custom 3’’ intake and a custom 2.25” exhaust on the car right now.

I have some questions.
1. Will I run into any valve relief issues with the pm6 pistons and crower cam?
2. For tuning can I get away with an AEM F/IC piggy back? (I know hondata rules, but I need to keep obd2 to pass the Nazi PA inspection.)

My goals for this engine are rather modest. I hope for a reliable 130+hp and 110+lbs of torque. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
3,315 Posts
No problems with your valve reliefs if you don't mill to much off the head. The AEM piggy back should do fine with such low CR.

·
Registered
104 Posts
I like this build although I think a stock or maybe a 60mm b series throttle body would work better than the 62mm also the cryo and shot peen idea is also over kill I would use stock rods and if there not enough modified LS although ls would raise compression in to the mid 11s with this set up if you used your stock Y8 piston and LS rods this would also yield around a 10.5 comp pistons will stick about .016 out of the hole so you would have to use a 3 layer head gasket around 0.040 in or so.

·
Registered
873 Posts
I have some questions.
1. Will I run into any valve relief issues with the pm6 pistons and crower cam?