Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello y’all, I’m new to the honda chassis and bought a 96 hatchback with a blown y7 and swapped in a y8. After going over the car I realized that it was manual swapped, not only that the y8 was auto until I took the auto stuff off to put the manual Trany on. Already wired everything up with the p2p ecu. Has rough idle and I don’t know if there’s certain things I have to do. Any help would be appreciated :)

·
Registered
6,242 Posts
d16y7 has 3wire IACV, Y8 has 2wire if manual, same 3wire if it was auto.

These are things to find out prior to a swap, future thoughts.

what harness is in it (year and trim it is from)
which p2p ecu was used (year and trim)

Simple things to check, do the rpms drop to 450-500 revs when IACV is unplugged?
Is the throttle cable slightly loose from snug, rather than too tight, causing IACV to be over active?
Is the throttlebody nice and clean?
Is distributor timing correct?

Its more money used up, but it might be worth sticking the Y7 head on there, and not having to deal with electronics being swapped.

Do a VIN check on the chassis to verify it is a manual swap, and not some sort of dumb stuff like a clusterfuck of wiring.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
d16y7 has 3wire IACV, Y8 has 2wire if manual, same 3wire if it was auto.

These are things to find out prior to a swap, future thoughts.

what harness is in it (year and trim it is from)
which p2p ecu was used (year and trim)

Simple things to check, do the rpms drop to 450-500 revs when IACV is unplugged?
Is the throttle cable slightly loose from snug, rather than too tight, causing IACV to be over active?
Is the throttlebody nice and clean?
Is distributor timing correct?

Its more money used up, but it might be worth sticking the Y7 head on there, and not having to deal with electronics being swapped.