Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey all, first time post here. im a bit of a noob at this, so please be nice. :redface: i have an 88 4 door civic with an all stock motor, except for a multi point swap and a little intake. iv been wanting to go boost it for awhile now, but dont have any experience with it personally. i am handy mechanically, and would most likely rebuild the engine before trying to put it under boost, but for after that, i was wondering if the kit from xs turbo was a good idea? heres the link to it, T3 4 BOLT SUPER TURBO KIT, D SERIES D15 D16 SOCH CIVIC, Acura Honda Turbo Kits, XS Power Inc. .. iv heard that xs power products arent good for very high boost, but all i want is something fairly reliable but fun to drive. any help would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
453 Posts
look around, read, learn, ask, and most of all search!

There are many things you can do to your car. I font know how many miles you have on your car, but it is a tad old. I would brake it down and look at it well before you start boosting it.

what are your goals? maybe you dont need high boost?

·
Registered
Civic Si hatch EH3 -
198 Posts
and this is a regular ebay turbo kit... there are a couple of threads about this...
it's not a good kit... manifold will crack..

·
Registered
90 civic si
1,536 Posts
if you are going to get a cheap ebayish turbo kit get one with a cast manifold.. that will save you one headache..

as for boosting your car i say check the compression on the motor convert the car to obd1 install turbo kit dyno tune to 200whp and then build a motor on the side..

and for your first turbo setup you could look into getting a greddy turbo kit used they go for fairly cheap $600-800 and are good quality

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
boosting a D15? be happy with 180whp to be reliable

them rods are mighty small :p
this is true. however fjt (a site sponsor) makes rods for this motor <3

first welcome