Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I crashed my beloved EJ1, and bought an EJ6 as a replacement. I would like to swap a few things over and I'm wondering what components are either a direct swap or would fit with little modification. I work on cars for a living, so getting the job done won't be an issue, I just would like to spend as little as possible and use what I have now, and only replace necessary items with either OEM or equal quality parts.

my EJ1 is a 94 EX coupe. totally stock Z6, manual. absolutely clean and healthy. only 90k original miles on it. bought the car 3 years ago with only 67k on the clock, with the radio being the only aftermarket part on the car. I left the engine stock, and upgraded the suspension. I replaced every available bushing on the car with urethane and new factory bushings where urethane wasnt offered. the shocks have been upgraded to Koni yellows with ground control coil over sleeves and springs. the car took a decent hit to the front, and I'm not all that interested to try and get it straightened out. I dont like bodywork and collision repair.

my EJ6 is a 00 DX hatch. stock Y7, manual. lots of miles, needs some love and attention.

will the suspension swap over? I spent many hours replacing the bushings on my EJ1, and I'm not looking forward to doing it again. I would love to be able to just swap over my entire suspension, if at all possible.

also, would the Z6 be a worthy swap? I'm not looking to try and force it to work, I know anything is possible. I have seen a lot of people that put together some very interesting combinations of blocks, heads and transmissions with various results. I would like to go about this quickly and efficiently. I dont want to spend time trying to figure out what else I need to MAKE it work.