Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys i was just wondering if you can clear something up for me?i was told tonight that to have a air/fuel guage you need a wideband o2 sensor.but you can't just have that and the guage you need a kit so that it has power to run and so you can tune with it.and it has to be wired into your pcm.is this true?why can't you just take a wideband o2 sensor wire it to your factory plug and put your guage in.sorry if its a stupid question but i am still new to this whole aftermarket anything so any help is always appriciated.

·
Friend of the D
3,069 Posts
For what I think you want, you want a Wideband. They do make AFR guages that use a narrowband, but a narrow band only measures stoichiometric 14.7:1 and then tells you if you are rich or lean.

A Wideband measures the whole AFR range (hence the name). A wideband needs a controller to run and power. It can be put in the same bung as your stock O2 sensor. Most have a narrowband output which you can then run to your ECU.

The wideband itself doesn't need to be hooked to your ECU. If you want to use it to tune, you need a way to datalog the output, along with other engine data. Most of the guys who tune use a portable for just that reason. they don't want a permanent install.

They have permanent install kits that just hook to a guage.

http://www.xenocron.com/catalog/wideband-permanent-install-c-25_44.html

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3