Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1992 Civic DX Hatch
Joined
·
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
need some help and ideas, I have an innovative wide band and a autometer AFR gauge. about 6 months ago I put the wideband in the car set it up hooked up the yellow wire to the ecu. I am running Crome on the ECU and all worked on my laptop. recently I installed a AFR gauge to the brown wire on my wide band. ran it for a couple days and was getting some wack reading. thought i just needed to calibrate the voltage output in LM Programmer. when I did this the wide band quit working. o2 sensor will not heat up. I tried all the calibrating things noting seems to reset it. A friend of mine has a LM2 and i was going try his sensor to see if mine is burnt. after disconnecting the wide band from the power I kept getting signals on the AFR guage when the wideband was disconnected. i noticed when I turn on AC and change the fan speeds get a indication on the AFR gauge. It also happens with windshield wipers and turn signal.
the power lead was getting power from te fuse block, I wired it direct to the battery just to see if tings changed but their was no difference.
I am feeling pretty confident it is a ground issue, but i have no Idea how to track that down. I could really use some good advice on how to accomplish this.
 

·
Registered
1992 Civic DX Hatch
Joined
·
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Why is that better? Currently I am grounded to the body under the dash where the steering wheel mounts to the car body.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
889 Posts
Ground offsets. Everything should be grounded together with the ECU. Solder/crimp properly the wire from the wideband and the gauge and run one lead with one ring terminal to the t-stat ground. I'm unsure if it will actually fix your problem but it certainly won't hurt it and it's an easy way to see if thats the problem.
 

·
Registered
1992 Civic DX Hatch
Joined
·
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Lc1. I am not so worried about the wideband but I do need to figure out why I am getting signals on the AFR gage with the wideband disconnected.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,794 Posts
The controller is programmed to output a high impedance signal when the sensor is disconnected if I recall correctly. Probably why you are getting weird readings with the sensor unplugged.

Fix the grounds as detailed above. Also make sure your gauge is grounded to the same location as well. Body grounds are notoriously noisy, and should not be used for datalogging equipment. Steel is a poor conductor, and the body structure acts as an antenna of sorts anyway.
 

·
Registered
1992 Civic DX Hatch
Joined
·
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
all the wide band grounds are soldered together and attached to the steering wheel mount. the AFR is hooked together with a oil pressure and boost gauge all power wires connected together and routed to the fuse box. Ground wires are the same and attach to the body. will it be detrimental to have all those grounds soldered together and attached to the thermostat hsg.
 

·
Registered
Same as above
Joined
·
5,975 Posts
no you need to ground the LC-1 grounded to the T-stat housing or the readings will be off in crome. Also ditch the innovative and get a PLX. I had too many problems with the LC-1 like sensors going out often. Now that I have a PLX I couldn't be happier. You don't even have to calibrate the PLX wideband :)
 

·
Registered
1992 Civic DX Hatch
Joined
·
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
one thing i did tonight was to go thru the fuse block pulling the individual fuses to try and see if I could narrow it to a single circuit, and it made no difference. guess if the body is as noise as you say that would make sense. one of the other issues I have is crappy radio reception.

The battery ground goes from the battery straight to the body, and then another wire goes from body to engine. should i go straight to the engine from the battery as well as to the body at the same time?
 

·
Registered
1992 Civic DX Hatch
Joined
·
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
no you need to ground the LC-1 grounded to the T-stat housing or the readings will be off in crome. Also ditch the innovative and get a PLX. I had too many problems with the LC-1 like sensors going out often. Now that I have a PLX I couldn't be happier. You don't even have to calibrate the PLX wideband :)

really? I suspect the sensor is shot on mine as well. I will know for sure when I get a chance to try my buddy's out.

I will have to check out the PLX I am pretty frustrated with my innovative LC1.
 

·
Registered
90 CRX Si
Joined
·
3,866 Posts
I had no issues on my LC1 except for a sensor every year or so, but I sold it for an MTX-L, only has 5 wires and is cheap and fast reading. Yes, you need to ground your wideband to the thermostat housing with the ECU. I had variances in my voltages reporting to the ecu vs what the gauge was reading until I did so.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,794 Posts
I have had zero issues with my two LC-1s, and I am probably approaching 6+ years of ownership on the first one which has been installed in no less than 4 vehicles.

Fix the grounds as instructed above, and you won't have these issues.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top