Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
()*#$(*$
93 Legend L Coupe.
11,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally have everything back and ready to go to get my suspension back together. Yay!

Should I press the wheel bearings into the spindles first or onto the hub first? I've never done this before (obviously).

What say ye?

Anyone have any tips or tricks this?

·
Registered
91 CRX Si
33 Posts
It's been a while since I did this but I believe I did spindle first, especially since you have to put the giant C clip back in. Other than that all I can really remember or suggest right now is don't be shy about it

·
Registered
265 Posts
Don't forget 134ft/lbs on the nut. I just saw your new mill, so I shouldn't have to say that you probably have a kick ass torque wrench too.

Cheers

·
()*#$(*$
93 Legend L Coupe.
11,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I don't. I just honk on them with bodyweight (a lot of that) on a 3/4" t-bar with a pipe extension.

Yeah, so, Bone . . . That thing you mentioned. You mentioned it because this would happen, right?

I thought I was using something that had enough overlap to hold the inner race, but, I was wrong:

Yes, that is a cheap coilover sleeve. It's nearly perfect for that opperation. Nearly. For pressing in the bearing, it is perfect. The locking collars are a scary good fit for inside of the spindle, but for pressing in the hub, well, you can see what happened.

Time to order another bearing. Blech.

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,432 Posts
What is wrong with that bearing? Did you bother to repack it with hi temp grease like you talked about?

Why not?

Cheap HF sockets make GREAT press tools. So does black pipe from Loews along with caps and nipples.

·
Registered
Same as above
5,975 Posts