Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 1998 civic lx sedan and the motor is getting wore out so i have a parts motor 1.6l that i want to build to have ready to swap so im looking for the best build that fits my budget/expectations.

i dont plan on taking the car to the track. just looking for something to use on the streets that can pass alot of cars. something like 300+whp.

so what are my options/prices/level of hardness. and where can i get some details on how to do these.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
im fairly new to the civic family so any help on getting engine types and tranny types etc would help greatly ! also my car is manual tranny

·
Registered
93 del sol
42 Posts
for that kinda power you will need pistons rods boost....google 300hp d series or something like that you will find a lot of build threads

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
atleast yours a 5psd, mines auto, but my goals are only 150-180

how much is the budget? indicator if you should build or swap.
well im not sure what is a good budget. id just like to know some rough build prices. id like to keep the 1.6l and build it so i dont gotta change ecus and wiring and motor mounts etc. im looking to build a sleeper. i can only do like 195kmh right now but id like to be able to do 220-240kmh to keep up with the damn integras around here haha

·
Never finishes (TWSS)
91 Civic SI hb/ 01 GSR
1,918 Posts
300whp, somthing like 4000$ but you need to know how to do the work your self and based on what you have said so far in this post you cant also your only option is a turbo and a build bottom end

190whp you could do for 1500 and dont touch the bottom end and that will take you to your 235 or or what ever your talking about. and where exactly are you chasing down these integras that are going 240? if tis on the street just quit while your ahead and leave the car stock

·
Registered
Black/Green Civic HB
753 Posts