Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 97 base model civic coupe with y7. Engine is currently in pieces for a rebuild. So far the only thing still good on the y7 is the block. I have an a6 bottom end and block, a y8 head, a z6 head. I have a y8 master rebuild kit including y8 pistons. I want to keep the car obd2a for now since I have a p2p ecu I. I need some help trying to figure out what to build here for higher compression and which oil pump to put on this build. I'm opening up the a6 block/y8 head combo motor to check it out today hopefully I see the pm6 pistons. Please help!

·
Registered
813 Posts
oil pump will mostly be decided by your block choice y block you need y pump so you have a dipstick,

a6 z6 with with y8 injectors ckf trick,and a z6 dizzy to make it easier ,might "work" ...

·
Registered
5,841 Posts
search for zeals compression calculator.

A6's pistons inside the Y7 block with the Y8 head may provide a tad too much compression for the Y7 ecu to deal with. You will most likely want to run 93 octane

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm changing to the y8 ecu(p2p). So, update after today: the a6 pistons are junk but the rods seem ok, going with a simple y7 mini-me, still unsure of which head (z6 or y8) I will use. Can i use the y8 cam in the z6 head for any level of gains?

Zeal was used on my prior build. I had a y7/z6 mini-me with a Brian crower stage 2 cam with GX pistons(the natural gas car). Compression ratio on that one was 12+:1 and ran ok on a y8 ecu and some timing. Was mated to a slushbox in a sedan, would do a burnout into 4th gear. I would have loved it to be a 5 speed.

.....that rod bearing was intact-ish until I broke the torque. The rest of it was in the pan and took out the oil pump. Second pic is just a part I'm throwing in here for the next guy, and for some reason is a step people often skip. Hone those cylinders! Before and after.

Attachments

·
Registered