Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
The Honda with a d16
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here is the story summed up, I was driving down the road, just cruising. I wasnt even getting into the car. But for some reason I either broke a push rod or blew the rod completely. Ive been checking around the web but im not a PRO mechanic so I cant really find what I need to buy to fix EVERYTHING to par, so what does it really take to replace this. Should I be watching for something else that caused the rod to break or what?

Anyway, car had oil. still has oil.

Basically;
Id like to know approx what it SHOULD cost me to fix and what else I should do while im fixing it. ex: gaskets or what?

Other options, Should I just buy a new motor all together?

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
Just source yourself a used block, Open up the oil pan and check for any bearing shielving. If it looks good, grab some new parts.

-headgasket
-waterpump
-timing belt
-thermostat
-plugs
-wires

·
Registered
ej8
6,365 Posts
Not enough information.
Im unsure of what happen to your car. You say push rods then blew a rod.

If you throw a rod throw the block while not in boost or high rpm then something is really wrong.
If you got a knock then spun a bearing more or less it was lack of oil.

Take the motor out and check it. Then post pix and we may be able to tell you what happen.

·
Premium Member
537 Posts
If you broke a push rod in a d series you would be the first in history to do it.

If you think you broke a connecting rod it will be easy to tell... just look for the big hole in your block that doesn't belong there.

If there is a hole in the block you will want to pick up a new engine.

200-1000 depending on the engine
a day for the swap
and then back to smokey burn outs

·
Registered
'95 DX Coupe (Red)
457 Posts