Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9,921 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok I really dont wanna spend 70+ bucks for a nice powdercoating.... but I am a good painter..... spray painter... :) would buying some nice 1200 ceramic paint work just as well as a nice powdecoat?? tell me what cha guys think.... thanks

·
Registered
639 Posts
The valve cover in my avatar was done with dupicolour engine enamel.. Ford Red and a coat or two of high heat clear.. The clear is tricky though you have to put it on within 10 minutes of the last coat of it with wrinkle!

·
Registered
438 Posts
yeah the Duplicolor right? it sells in 500 and 1200 right? I wanna do mine a nice blue... and polishing the honda with my dremel... Ill post pics... should I prime it?? maybe??
You could always primer it grey..

I have a pic of mine blue, its ugly as hell.

This was alongggggggggggggg time ago.

Sorry, best pic i could find.
and yes, duplicolor.

What color is your car?

I think you oughta try wrinkle black, dark wrinkle green, or wrinkle blue. Gives a ten times better look in my opinion.

·
Registered
9,921 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
wrinkle? I know what that is.... but I am kinda lost to what it is... noob... lol I know is it a kinda of clear or what?

·
Registered
371 Posts
yeah the Duplicolor right? it sells in 500 and 1200 right? I wanna do mine a nice blue... and polishing the honda with my dremel... Ill post pics... should I prime it?? maybe??
If you prime it, make sure the primer is also heat resistant. Otherwise you'll melt that under your more expensive paint job and have the same issue.

Learned that the hard way, lol.

·
Registered
639 Posts
if you let the base(colour) cure to long you will spray the clear on and it with wrinkle. peel. get really wavy!

·
Registered
639 Posts