Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My coworker and I were talking about this...and at the risk of sounding like a complete noob, need some logic explained to me....:wacko:

It's common knowledge that a stock D can handle roughly 220whp or so at it's max. My question is what if you're at the 220whp already and been boosting great for a while with no problems, but want to add a vac-u-pan system to make it run more effecient (while also freeing up some power), will I risk throwing a rod because I took stress *OFF* of the block?

My obvious answer is yes, due to it maxing out the rods...but my logic isn't making sense of why? If it's less crankcase pressure causing it to run more effecient, would you detune it back to 220whp? Or could you have a (even more reliable) 250whp D?

**All these numbers are hypethetical, just for the sake of showing a point**

Bottome line: If an already maxed out D will pop because you made it run better, and as a side effect added a little more power?

·
Registered
same
1,624 Posts
simple answer, if you're on the threshold of finding the weakest link then why worry about it anyways?

if you are making 220whp and add a cam (more efficient) is it going to blow?

i doubt the 220whp threshold, i think its closer to 260whp if not higher with the correct tune.

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is all in theory here...

Say you're already at the threshold of it blowing, and you add something to make it more effecient but adds HP as a SIDE EFFECT, will it blow even though you made it more effecient (In this case, took pressure OUT OF the crankcase)

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Vaccuum pump in the example

·
Registered
3,720 Posts