Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a low mileage (or relatively low mileage (97k)) D16Z6 and I want to boost it, but as a daily day driver, I'm not looking to run 11 second quaters with it. Probably something around 7lbs of boost (maybe a lil higher)..I have one basic goal to run power wise. I have a 2001 GTI VR6 that puts out 174 or 171hp at the wheels, I want to surpass that with high 100's or 200hp. From what I've been reading I'll need a relatively medium size/smaller size turbo, I see the T3/T4 brought up as well as the T25 (I think) brought up for this kind of setup. Though my question isn't really about the turbo system..it's about the engine and its endurance. I want to run 7-10lbs or somewhere around there as a daily driver but I don't want the danger of throwing a rod to ALWAYS be there if I try to pass somebody.

I talk to a lot of pple about this because I'm trying to contimplate whether I should do it or how I should do it and I get one similiar thing which is this: I can run 9lbs or so on an every-day driver with STOCK internals BUT with one catch, the engine won't last long before you throw a rod, might not happen immediately, but it won't last that long before something happens - and I don't want to take a chance on that.

From what I've read I should only need to bulid up the head if I'm going to rev it out more which I don't really intend to do, I wanna keep the 7.2k redline, so I assume I'll need to build the bottom half only. So what would I need to do to prep the engine for daily driving boost so it's not in danger of blowing anytime soon. I figure High comp pistons with forged rods (like eagle or something), bearings, and rings?

Any help asside from "go learn yourself" or some stupid shit like that is greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
5,910 Posts