Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've searched across this forum and others as well but can't seem to find an answer. I just replaced the axles on my D16Z6 trans and did the seals too while I had them out. Refilled with Honda MTF, 1.9 quarts as per manual. Drives great, only problem is that it leaks a little fluid when the car is parked. Took it to a local mechanic and he said I put too much fluid in and the excess is being forced out through the seals. He told me to drive it around until it stops. Here is what I have come up with...

The car had over 278,000 miles on it when I changed the transmission fluid, and the Honda MTF is some "advanced" formula, so could this cause a leak, kind of like putting synthetic motor oil in a high mileage engine?

What do you guys think? Yeah I'm a noob, but I've been reading the forums for years and I'm stumped on this...

·
Registered
3,459 Posts
I've searched across this forum and others as well but can't seem to find an answer. I just replaced the axles on my D16Z6 trans and did the seals too while I had them out. Refilled with Honda MTF, 1.9 quarts as per manual. Drives great, only problem is that it leaks a little fluid when the car is parked. Took it to a local mechanic and he said I put too much fluid in and the excess is being forced out through the seals. He told me to drive it around until it stops. Here is what I have come up with...

The car had over 278,000 miles on it when I changed the transmission fluid, and the Honda MTF is some "advanced" formula, so could this cause a leak, kind of like putting synthetic motor oil in a high mileage engine?

What do you guys think? Yeah I'm a noob, but I've been reading the forums for years and I'm stumped on this...
did u change your rear main seal?

because my leak a little too when i park.

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,630 Posts
installed the seals wrong?????

Why did you change to a different fluid????