Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, i’m new to this forum. I have a 94 Civic EX and i’m pulling the tranny off to replace it (bad synchros and input shaft bearing) with a rebuilt synchrotech tranny with carbon synchros.

I was talking to my cousin who is a honda tech at a dealership and he said that the transmission to engine bolts are torque to yield. Is that true or...? Cause i looked in the service manual and it says they get torqued to 43 lb ft. He also said they often break in the block, so its good to replace them every time. True or false?

I’d also like for you guys to post any tips or tricks for the job if possible. Please be detailed as I am relatively new to the Honda game. I had an 84 Accord with a couple mods, but this is my first Civic.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Torque to yield simply means the type of bolt. They stretch a bit so they clamp better than the average bolt. You still torque them, but they are absolutely a one-use product because they stretch.

I assume that answers your question.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know what torque to yield means, my question is: Are there torque to yield bolts on the transmission-to-engine bolts on my car?

·
Registered
57 Posts
My guess would be yes, but the only way you’d know 100% is by removing it. Even if it didn’t, I’d probably get some anyway.

The reason I answered your question that way was because you made it sound like TTY bolts weren’t torqued to the same spec as normal bolts. TTY bolts would still get torqued to 43 ft-lbs.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What makes you guess that it does? Not trying to be stand off-ish, just trying to learn. I have removed them, will they have certain markings/stampings or can you see the stress marks or something?

Its okay. I know they do, just trying to find out if thats the case for my transmission to engine bolts. I only see those used on head bolts/studs.

·
Registered