Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hey I’m new to the board and Honda for that matter, so I spent a while searching for ways to pep my DX daily up a little. My background is mostly Ford Lightning trucks and a SRT-4 I used to bracket race.

Not looking for ETs and I know going boosted would be the easiest, but I’d like to keep it NA. I’m machinist/mechanic and co-own a engine machine shop so all the work can be done by me. Here is what I have in mind and I’m not looking to spend a fortune , just an aggressive commuter. Look it over a see and comment away. Thanks

Y7 block stock internals
Y7 head pnp milled .04-.05
Y8 IM or skunk2
4-2-1 header/2.5 exhaust Vibrant muffler
Adj. FPR
Delta 272
adj Cam gear

I’m undecided on what injectors but most likely Y8. I’ll fab a CAI. I’m sure I’m leaving out a ton and I’m asking for some guidance. Tuning will be needed to adjust the timing tables and I’m open to suggestions.

Glad to me a part of the board

Also I plan on swapping a B000 trans as well.

·
Registered
6,909 Posts
DO NOT use a skunk2 manifold. It is far too large, even for the best of NA builds. It does very nicely on boosted builds.

a midly ported d16z6 intake manifold is your best bet for overall drivability. For better high rpm power, the d16y8 intake is best once you clean up the TB throat a little of restrictions.

Your stock Y7 throttlebody, or an auto Y8 throttlebody, is your best bet for daily driving. Toss on a 60-62mm TB from one of the B/H/F engines if you want some more high RPM power.

You can save a bit of cash, re-use the Y7 TB, and swap the cable spool for one off a plenum style engine's TB (reverse pull compared toY7)

Delta 272 cam should wake it up significantly, but understand you NEED that head milling you mention, otherwise it will be wasted.