Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Assembled some various older stereo components I had around. Deck is an Alpine 149BT and all 4 speakers are JVC Drvn series. Sounds real nice without being over the top.

·
Registered
00' Ek, 79'z28
7 Posts
wow clean job .. ive kinda pondered with the idea of some sort of system in my hatch just so used to a trunk with massive boxes and what not wasnt really sure how to go about making "stream line " setup

·
Registered
Love the Civic
1,817 Posts
Are those narrow angled back boxes? Looks good. Hows the sound as far as depth for rock songs and such?

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah, I was going for clean and light. I used a couple products I have never tried before, Stinger 6 channel flat rca and Street Wire 9 conductor speaker wire (4 pairs plus amp remote turn on lead). I made a spare tire cover from 1/2 mdf, mocked up where I wanted to mount everything and then drilled appropriate holes through the mdf to feed wiring. Still have to screw down the amps and d blocks, and change out the ground wiring to black wire. Only had red and I wanted to have it functional while I waited for my wire to come in. I will get more pictures of the box tomorrow, it was originally meant for a truck. It sounds real good listening to all sorts of rock, including hardcore with fast tight basslines. The response is quick and crisp with the 8s in a sealed small volume box. Lacks the huge hit of some 10s or 12s but still really thumps, I find myself using the remote bass control knob when switching from rock to EDM or rap. I'd like to upgrade the 4 channel amp and swap out the 2 8s for one JL 8w7 later on.

·
Two men shy of a group
99 civic sedan ex
1,312 Posts
Nice setup, I would like a single 10 inch sub but don't want to deal with a bunch of crap to get to my spare tire. During winter I usually carry two studded snow tires in my trunk plus a full size low pro hf jack

·