Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well before I start, I wanted to state that I just got my first car (a eg hatch) about a month ago and my timing belt lost teeth which killed my b18b. I looked all over for a new b16 or Gsr but the ones that seemed the most reliable cost over 2000$. I'm a high school student with not a lot of money as I'm sure a lot of people face the financial issues that I have on here. Luckily my friend did his type r swap and had a d16y8 laying around. It makes the same power as my b18b (about 130 but if I'm wrong please correct me) and it has vtec which my old motor never had. I'm really excited to start my single cam build, ordered a password jdm intake, had my ecu chipped, and ordered a bisimoto header. I can't wait to face trial and error and see what I can do with my underdog swap.

Anyways, I'm pretty much a virgin on all this stuff but ive set a goal. I want to make 200-250hp. Of course I want it all to be safe and last me for years to come. I really want to make this power with an all motor set up but I've read around here on the forums and most people I see make about 160hp with all motor. The only option it seems for me is a boosted set up. If you think I can make my horsepower goal with all motor then please show me the way. But if it's turbo, I would like to know how to work this out with the most safest build possible. I heard that it was easy making over 300hp with a turbo set up! Please show me legit parts, I'm really scared of eBay parts.

So if you have any advice please let me know. Heck if you have a dream engine build, list your dream parts below so I can get a better idea. Please let me know all the parts I will need and if there a cool shop in southern Cali for any help I need. Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
the first trial and error is going to be the bisi header. you will break it and have to fix it. its inevitable.