Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, i am totally new to the honda thing, i have a 1991 civic 4dr dx which i think is a d15b2 correct me if im wrong, but it looks like this is the weakest of them all:) and just wondering i want to do some engine work to it...but nobody seems to make anything for this, so what do you guys suggest, im looking for a aggressive cam and maybe some forged internals for good boost or juice in the future..i dont know which motor it is, but it seems like the sohc vtec is popular? i dont want to swap motors in this maybe a head though, and i want something i can build up and just tear up.....sorry if im considered a noob on here:) haha this is my DD well was my DD for a few years, my racer is a 98 trans am ws6 with a quite a bit of my money tied up into it.

Sooo, just looking for advice on what would work well for my d15b2, its not going to be a full blown build, but i want to maybe beef it up a little bit...no bolt ons though, even though it will restrict it.. im okay with that..

So anybody please help. thanks in advance

-Nick

·
FF Misfit
Accord
4,881 Posts
Here's a basic build I'd recommend and I'll even keep the bolt-on's oem Honda so it still has a stock look to it.

Z6 IM (intake manifold) (Z6 = 92-95 SOHC VTEC)
cut out the bottom of the air box and add a K&N
port match the IM to the intake ports
Bisi stage 2 camshaft
P29 or PM7 pistons (12:1ish CR)
Z6 or Y8 Exhaust manifold
2.25 exhaust w/ twin loop muffler so it's still nice and quiet
P06 ECU tuned w/ Crome

·
Registered
3,586 Posts
Bisi stage 2 camshafts
And what do you do with the second cam?

That's not a bad start though, but the P29's don't get you over 10:1 on a stock B2 block. You need to really mill the block or head to get up there.

You also don't need to swap to OBD-1 to tune it. Just use a PM6 and turboedit, no reason to make things harder than needed.

·
FF Misfit
Accord
4,881 Posts