Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im pretty new to the honda world. i have a good idea of what i want to build im just not sure on the motor. i want to turbo either a sohc or dohc but i dont know what would be safest. i ddrive alot around town so it would have to be dd safe which is why i was thinking the sohc is better. i know its not going to be cheap and im not looking for outragous power. i dont expect to build much more then 250hp if that. im thinking a t3/t4, wally 255, dsm 450cc injectors. obviously tuning ect. any thoughts would be much appreciated :biggrin:

·
Registered
175 Posts
I honestly use the d not because this dso but swap 1000- 1800. Turbo d reliable parts 2ooo .... you haven't even bought the turbo kit and stuf for the b series when you have almost a fully built d posilbly make 250 to 300 hp

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
there is no "safe" build; its all about your build quality and how much time.money and research you put into it.

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
Need to be more specific. Comparing sohc to dohc is apples,oranges and lemons. Give us 2 motors exp. d15b7 vs b18a1. The range is to big to compare sohc to dohc.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Well I'm going to be buying either a coupe or a teggy. Or also looking for eg hatches. I'm trying to find one with a d15 or d16 vtec and I'm gunna put new head gaskets and low comp. Piston rings before I Turbo it. Probably arp headstuds as well. Later ill put cams and internals. I want to know what's going on with the internals before I build it and blow it up lol like I said I'm new to Honda's and don't know all the engine models. What motor would you recommend? I only want to boost around 9-12psi max. Probably just roll around town on 7ish psi so I'm not completely stressing out the motor

·
Registered
167 Posts