Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,047 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First I'll say hello. I'm currently an owner of an '02 Si hatch with lots of goodies. But I'm planning on picking up a project car. The car is an '88 CRX. I haven't been able to drive it or really check out the car. The owner is out of town this weekend. Well, the point of this thread is to get some ideas on what I can do with this car. I'm not sure if its a DX, HF, or Si. My basic thought are a possible b-swap. But I really don't want to go f/i yet.

The engine has around 160,000 miles on it. I've seen some inexpensive ideas on getting good power (that would be a swap and turbo setup). But like I said, I don't really want to go f/i just yet. I plan on completely gutting the interior, working up the suspension. THis will be an auto-x and maybe track car.

Please lend me your knowledge and wisdom on the subject. I will also add, I'm a real newb to engines which is why I'm getting this car (hopefully). I want to do the work myself so I can get some learning experience. Thanks for your help.

-Chet

P.S. TO the mods, I wasn't sure which forum to place this in. There's not a newb forum here. If you need to move the thread I understand!!

·
Registered
1,315 Posts
d-series man.. dont swap a b... do ur research and put a d engine in there...they are much more cheaper and cost effective, and fi u turbo u will get better results then if u were to swap b series... and dont forget u'll save urself a few thousand going down the d-series route. As for suspension get urself a nice spring/shock combo, or u can go with a full coilover suspension...like tien..lol quite pricey but if u want to auto x, it will make all the difference. Those are just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
1,047 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
russianwonder32 said: