Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright everyone thanks in advance for hearing me out with what may be dumb questions, but i'm indecisive after doing enough research to make my brain hurt a tad lol.

So after mulling it over a while, I decided to stick with the d-series platform because my ek hatch came with a d16z6. They're a dime a dozen near me so i can pick up a full running engine for $350 at various places. Since this is my first time turboing, don't want to pay a good amount for a b motor and the swap parts and mess something up. I plan on buying an extra motor and rebuilding it. Looking to get 325-375 whp!

I plan on using/doing the following things for the rebuild:

Eagle Rods
OEM bearings, rings and gaskets
Bore over stock sleeves to 75.5mm
new oem water pump/oil pump
New belts

I will be running e85 and i was planning on running the tried and true vitaras but, I was told on here that running a higher compression on e85 is recommended but vitaras give under 10:1. Anyone running low compression like this and using e85 not quite sure the negatives of low compression with e85.

I wasn't planning on doing anything to the head unless i upgrade valvetrain, but wasn't sure if that would be necessary. I'll probably do a more aggressive cam but haven't looked into them. I read on another forum that port and polish had little to no effect in power on the d series. Thoughts?

As far as the turbo pieces:
Ebay cast manifold
Ebay intercooler and piping
Go auto Oil lines
tial wastegate 38mm
greddy fv bov
t3/to4e 50 trim .48 A/R garrett turbo from STC 48lbs/min
turbosmart manual boost controller
go auto downpipe 3"
custom 3" exhaust
walbro 255lph pump
rc injectors 1000cc
custom dump tube