Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did some searching and was reading people saying that roller rockers would disable VTEC but i do not understand why.
From what I recall my valve train has roller rockers (D16Y8 VTEC).
So why could you not have rocker arms with bigger diameter rollers on them to ride the cam lobe thus pushing the valve open further and allowing more air in and out.
why can't we do this??? This would be one of my favorite mods to do.

I did this on my LT1 97 Z28 Camaro it made a nice difference...

However the shit i was reading was very old and i didn't find any new info so maybe there is something I am unaware of now...

·
Classic Man
Civic
16,355 Posts
Your Y8 does not have roller rockers.

Further more, rocker pads make the rocker arm geometry variable.

Not the case for roller rockers. A new cam profile will be required.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
ok, im just learning. so let me ask. why my cam on my LT1 was fine?
I only went from stock 1.5mm to 1.6mm rocker.

And I will check under my vc again and be sure because honestly i couldn't remember but i red that VTEC engines have the rollers. guess I shouldn't believe everything I read. But you would think if its put in forum someone would correct them.

correct me if i am wrong about the rocker arms.
they are rollers on the cam side but not on the stem side. so if we could have rollers on the stem side it would reduce friction and increase power and if you have a roller that will open valves longer and maintain good valve train geometry then you could gain even more power

·
Registered
1996 Civic Type DX
4,167 Posts
Z1, Y5, and B5(D16) have rollers. They are VTEC-E, not VTEC. You can't just put bigger rollers in them.

·
the artist formerly known as drexelstudent11
3,983 Posts