Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been running a JRSC setup with 170whp for over 7 years. Learned a few lessons along the way but for the greater part, this setup has been very reliable autocrossing and in the last 2 years, on the road courses. Well, i'm wanting more power and want to keep the d16 but the car is going to be mainly for track duty in lapping and time attack events. Does anyone have experience with reliability of turboed d16's?

The plan is for forged rods and pistons, and I'm currently running a standalone ecu so the tune will be there. My main concern is getting rid of the excess heat and not melting through pistons. I run a fairly large oil cooler already which is essential with these motors. I'll wait for a few responses first before I post the setup I have in mind. Any experiences out there? Failed motors on the track? Failure modes?

·
Registered
6,837 Posts
A turbo setup for the track can easily be just as reliable as the JRSC setup. You just have to address all the issues and have reliable parts, a solid tune, and a good install. You'll want a turbo on the smaller side. You already run an oil cooler so tha is a plus.

·
d-series resident crybaby
1,002 Posts
A turbo setup for the track can easily be just as reliable as the JRSC setup. You just have to address all the issues and have reliable parts, a solid tune, and a good install. You'll want a turbo on the smaller side. You already run an oil cooler so tha is a plus.
Yeah so pretty much buy everything from Go-autoworks! :D

·
Registered
259 Posts
Not to thread jack or anything but Iam cureious about oil coolers.

Say theres some times of the year where its really cold month out and you have to drive your car with an oil cooler, will it drop the temps of the oil to much? will it be harsh on parts of sorts? Is there a do and donts of oil coolers?

·
Registered
610 Posts