Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I rallycross a 1995 Civic. I replaced all of the front end bushings when I first got the car because bouncy around on the dirt can take its toll and I wanted to make sure everything had fresh rubber bushings.

I got a set of Truhart adjustable upper a arms. When I was taking off the none adjustable upper front a arms I noticed they were rubbing on the shock tower and basically just ripped a vertical line in the shock tower where they were rubbing.

Has anybody had this problem before??
Was it ??

1.The A arms were installed wrong?(Can't see how I have a shop manual and can read instruction)

2. The front end rebuild kit was just had really shitty bushings that allowed to much movement?

Any insight would be great I am kind of new to Civics.

P.S. I am going to weld the slit and keep rallying it because it is a blast......lol

·
Registered
08 H-D Ultra Classic
985 Posts
I would assume its from the control arm traveling a lot further and more often than the car was ever intended to do.
Weld it up and try again.

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
3,986 Posts
stock wasn't meant for that much travel, so youll have to make clearances

if I remember right, the guy who makes these is a member on here
EG SHOCK TOWER EXTENSIONS

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys

Got it thanks guys.

One thing I will point out is the stock a arms have a little tang/lip that hangs past the bushing. The Truhart adjustable ones do not have anything past where the bolt slides into the bushing, so hopefully there won't be anymore problems.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I guess I should ask has anybody ever rallycrossed a civic? Anybody have any set up tips besides reinforce the shock towers for bouncy around on dirt......lol

·
Registered
Subbie Outback
204 Posts