Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first build so I am hoping I can get some insight from other members so I can do this right the first time.

I just pulled off the main bearing cap from the block I'm building and all the bearings have wear spots on them. I'm assuming this is normal because the engine has 158k miles on it so of course there is going to be wear and tare but I want to be sure. The wear pattern looks similar to what I've seen on spun rod bearings, but not as bad.

• Is this normal or is there something wrong with the crankshaft?
My other big question is what happened to the middle bearing. It doesn't really fit onto the main bearing cap, it slides right off and there is a gap inbetween the main cap and the bearing that I can fit the largest leaf from my feeler gauge into.
  • Will this be fixed by using a new bearing (which I was going to do anyway, of course) or is it also possible that the journal hole is out of round?
I recorded a video to help understanding:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3rJj50Pbbg

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry, I just ran out and took some.

I think they show what I'm talking about pretty well but I'm teh suck with a camera.

·
Registered
223 Posts
Not sure why that one bearing has the gap in it but the wear looks normal to me. I rebuilt mine when it had about 118k on the engine and my bearing looked like this...
Rod bearings:

Mains:

Thrust:

The machine shop said it was normal wear and no crank work was needed except polishing the journals. Hope that helps some how.

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks guys,