Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an extreme noob in the engine swapping department. If you guys could please help me out here, i have a couple questions about this swap. I've searched for the past 30minutes, and just didnt find exactly what i was looking for.

I have a 92 EG and im looking to swap a d16y8 from a 97 civic ex. My questions are rather simple, so please forgive me if i overlooked the answer in my searching...

My car has a d15b in it. Is it obd0, obd1, or obd2? OR, where can i find this information? It has to be on the car somewhere?

What is the d16y8? Is it obd0, obd1, or obd2?

If they are the same, then all i need is the ecu right?

If they are different, what do i need? The ecu, wiring harness, and some sort of adapter? No adapter?

Last one...
What is obd0, obd1, or obd2? Are they wiring harnesses?

If there is a site, or post i can read to get asll this information, that is fine. Just point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance guys.

·
Friend of the D
3,069 Posts
Keep the car OBD1. Use your wiring harness (add VTEC wires if you don't have them). You need OBD1 injectors, alternator, and dist. Run a chipped P28 (or a VTEC converted ECU, if your EG doesn't already have VTEC).

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm pretty sure my car doesnt have vtec. How can i find out for sure?

The d16y8 is vtec right? What are these vtec wires you speak of? (searching now)

The OBD1 injectors, alternator, and dist, are stuff i already have since my car is obd1 right? My harness will hook right into the d16?

All i really need then is the engine, and to add vtec wires if i dont have them. Will the ecu out of the 97 ex work?

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)