Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm looking to build a pretty mean D series All motor. I'm kind of new to Honda's, so I'm looking for advice from some of you guys who know a lot more than me. Here's what I've got so far:

ZC Motor: $400+shipping
ZC Tranny: $150+shipping
D16Z6 Head: $320
P28 ECU: $100
Megan Racing Header: $350
Isky Racing Valvesprings/Retainers: $315
Si Valves: $200
Exospeed Stage 3 Camshaft: $260

Total so far: $2100 + shipping for engine/tranny and misc. shipping.

My budget for this build is $2500 including shipping. So a few questions I have are:

1. Are pistons worth changing out on the ZC block?
2. How much am I looking at for a decent tune?
3. If you had to guess, how much HP would I be putting down to the wheels with this set up?

Thanks a lot for the help in advance guys =D.

·
Registered
see above
4,259 Posts
you could pay less and make more power going turbo =). but if thats what you want.. loook into a better header.. a non vtec head for a bigger cam and some gear work for your trans.
jdm d15b vtec 600 plus bolt on greddy kiit *for smog*. chipped hondata s200 on 12 psi. less than 2500 =). just a thought though .

·
Banned
1,815 Posts
Yeah, your not going to make shit for power with an all motor d-series engine. TRUST US!!! turbo it. its not as hard, or expencive as it looks.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
how much am I looking at for a full turbo set up w/ a tune? I have a stock d15b7 in my 92 hatch with only 65k miles on it. should i drop a zc or a d15b vtec in it?

·
Banned
1,815 Posts
no, look around for a good used turbo kit. run 8 lbs of boost untill you want t be faster, then upgrade internals.

Not sure how much turbo kits go for, make it your self: $300-$700
Buy one: $500-$1000

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
not bad. how much power could i expect to be making with a used turbo setup on a stock d15b7? 180whp?

·
Banned