Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys.I am new to civic.Recently I bought an ek2 which had a d13b as stock,but the previous owner change the engine to a d15b with a d16y8 head coded as p2j-4.what I know is the intake manifold ,trottle and distributor are not for vtec.I have 2 solenoid .I just wanted to know how to engage vtec without the ecu.Please help

·
Registered
844 Posts
I just wanted to know how to engage vtec without the ecu.Please help
like a switch??? push button vtec yo vroom

vtec is more than just a electric oil pump

different ignition and fuel maps are needed unless you were carbed you cant control either without the help of a ecu of some sorts

·
Registered
ej8
6,365 Posts
Im guessing you cant read fune print.
It doesnt work on vtec-e or dual stage vtec.
You said you have 2 solenoids.

Also your understanding of vtec is so very wrong.
Its a whole another tune map that kicks in.
Get the right ecu for the motor.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
man thks.I know I am wrong in vtec.The ecu in my country is $500 with wiring .I have to change the distributor, intake and trottle.It will cost me $800.I am on a budjet.A tuner told me to hook a vtec controller that will control only the high cam.Correct me if I am wrong.

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
Why do you have 2 solenoids? A d16y8 head is 2 stage vtec, not 3.

A vtec solenoid takes standard 12v to activate assuming you have enough oil pressure. You can run it on your fuel and timing maps from a d13, but it wont be optimal. To do it get a RPM switch and set it to give the vtec solenoid 12v at 5000 RPMs.

What do your ecu plugs look like? Are you obd2a?

·
Registered
Love the Civic
1,817 Posts
So much rep must be spread, I feel weak in the knees.