Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post on this website. I am currently building a d16y8, this is my first build. Block is complete, ycp pistons, eagle rods, +.20 bore, and block guard. I have a y8 head stripped down and plan on purchasing racing springs, retainers, valves, and going with cam regrind from exo most likely.

Now how beneficial will a stage 2 port and polish from kms be for my application? What sort of gain would I be looking at compared to stock flow?

I am not willing to cut corners as far as reliability is concerned, but this is not a track car and I don't need every last drop of power out of this engine.

I apologize in advance if this has been addressed or if this thread is misplaced

·
Registered
3,720 Posts
You dont need an agressive cam to make 300, hell you dont need a cam as all. 400 hp has been done on the stock head quite a few times.

As for the P&P, youre more likely to make it worse than better. I wouldnt port it at all at that power levels. I would clean up the ports but I would not make them physically larger.

Remember, the things that make power NA are not the same things that make power turbocharged. Youre better off building it to spool fast and drive well and just use a little more boost to make the power you want.
Id rather have a car that drives and idles like stock, that takes 18 psi to make 300 hp, than a car that lopes and spools dirt slow just so that it can make 300 hp at 16 psi.

·
Registered
Acura TL-P
6,837 Posts
Gains will be based on how well the head is worked over and how well the setup works together. A good reworked head will simply allow the setup to make power easier and broader. It's a beneficial option on any setup, but not necessarily a necessity on a mild build.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5