Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
95 civic ex coupe
3,870 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
... im a noob with boost.. if you lift the head.. do you have to get teh head shaved.. or can u just replace the hg??

thanks

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
Depends how bad it is...i would assume you just need to replace the headgasket...but if it overheats and warps the head you need to get it resurfaced...just get arp head studs and dont worry about it...

·
Registered
see above
4,259 Posts
the reason you get your head milled is to compensate for the warping that occurs during over heating, if you think that your head bolts have stretched and you have lifted your head with out overheating, there is a good chance you can just get a new hg and studs, tq them the the oem specs. or the tq specs of the arps if you get them and be fine, you just want the mating surfaces to be level thats why people mill the head.
*they also mill for higher compression*
damn 1 minute posts =). beat me to it.

Reactions: siregcivic

·
Registered
95 civic ex coupe
3,870 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
well i put a cam in it.. and on the way to get tuned it detonated i think and the headgasket started leaking... it has bubbles in the radiator all the time.. but i never ever let the temp guage go over halfway i would just shut it off and fill it up with water...

i can get arp's but i need 8 z6's and 2 y8's so ig otta buy 2 sets or some shit like taht.. im using the z1 block and y8 head.. thanks for the help.. ima try to jsut replace the hg so i can go run the 1/4 mile track at fontana saturday:eek:

·
Registered
see above
4,259 Posts
make sure you tq them head bolts to the specs. and with that set up i dont see why you would have lifted. or are you turbo?. you did say you were a noob with boost. i dont konw if that was a specific or general knowledge question.
ah. reading owns me..
lemme guess 92-cx d16z6 turbo?

·
Registered
95 civic ex coupe
3,870 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·