Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts
F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The z6 in my 95 civic died and i replaced it with a junkyard engine that works and sounds good the problem was i got about a quarter mile from home and the oil pressure light started flashing so I babied it all the way back home and on the way it stayed on. the question i have is there is a slight bend in the bottom of the oil pan and i was curious as to whether the bend could be causing the low oil pressure or would it more than likeley be the oil pump. I am new to the honda engines and not sure of the clearences on the pickup to pan and whether a bend could cause it not to get any oil? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
314 Posts
A dent shouldn't cause low oil pressure. That light will come on for a few reasons.

1: the oil pump is not picking up oil, because there is none or very little to pick up
2: the oil pump itself cannot hold proper pressure, failing oil pump.
3: if the motor was apart, and wasnt primed, the turbine could be freewheeling, which will destroy the pump after a few miles.
4: wrong weight/viscosity motor oil, if an engine is ran with heavy oil, oil pressure will be lower because it takes more power to move heavier oils, 5W-30 is OE.
5: this could be the case, but if the dent is severe enough, it could have put the oil pickup tube in a position where it could not pickup enough oil to maintain pressure.
6:Main/Rod journal bearings excessively worn or damaged, spun bearing, not very likely if it still runs fine.

There are many possibilities, but if you know the history of the motor, or ask the person who had it before you what he did, this can point you to a cause or solution, these are just possibilities, and i strongly suggest you find the previous owner and ask for some honest answers, and make you best judgement based on that. In the meantime, check to see if you put enough oil in, and if it was the right weight.

If this still doesnt help, repost.

F

·
0 Posts