Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK heres the deal. I have extensive fairly extensive experience with honda's ; including d-series (mostly B), but I purchased my first turbo d today. d16z6, to4e turbo, tt rods, vitara pistons, 3 bar map, dsm 450's, crap egay manifold, "tuned" on crome, rywire plg n play, etc.. car runs "good" (as far as i can tell) somewhat choppy in lower rpm's, wich the seller says is due to a crower stage 2 cam. According to him its tuned for around 15 lbs.... At the moment im not running a boost controller and its peaking around 7-9 lbs. in 3rd, i havent boosted much in 4th.... around 6.5k rpms im getting a loud Popping noise from the exhaust, and i can smell fuel. I've ridden in turbo'd d's before, so im somewhat familer with the sound of detonation, and this isnt what im hearing. the last thing i need right now is a hole in one of my pistons... My first thought is the car hasnt actually been tuned properly, and may be running on a base map the p28 came with. any ideas?

·
Lurking... ಠ_ಠ In Your Thread
ES1 Civic
11,969 Posts
My first thought is the car hasnt actually been tuned properly, and may be running on a base map the p28 came with. any ideas?
there ya go. seems like it to me that the fuel curve is all fucked up because of the "tune"

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok we're getting somwhere..Well my next question is this: lets say the car was "tuned" to run 15 lbs... but im running 7 lbs off the wastegate currently.... could the possible cause of my popping noise be unburned fuel igniting out my exhaust from running to rich? I have a hard time trusting most guages but according to my a/f guage im running stoich through my whole upper rpm range. i've searched quite a bit, and i have an idea of what im looking at here, but i havent come up with an exact solution to my problem..

·
Registered
1,170 Posts