Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
95 ex
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im new to the honda game, had two in the last 3 months. I have raced and build snowmobiles for 10 years, build 4 jeeps so im pretty handy with a wrench. i just picked up a 95 ex its got a del so si trans, 148k rust free. my plan for now please feel free to imput, like i said new to imports.
d16z6 148k rebuild block with

vitara 75mm pistons
5.458 i beam rods
notch block arp 2000 rod bolts - whats a good buy, what to good to be true

stock head
get a 3 angle valve job
crower stage 2 turbo cam is $310 good? for the cam
should i get springs seals guides, im going to stay at a 7200 shift point

build should be a 8.5:1, i want to add boost, we will get to that later.

i have a si trans now but i want a dx or vx trans, i put no less then 2500 miles of 80mph plus hwy driving. so right now i run 3700prm at 80 and get 34 mpg, if i slow down to 65 i get 40mpg so which trans will net me best mpg at 80mph dx is 3300rpm vx is 2700rpm, does any one have any experince running a boosted d16 with vx trans ?

now to the turbo, im going to put together a kit, i have heard that cx racing makes a ok/good intercooler/pipeing kit for a good price, has anyone tryed/used them? ill buy a good BOV hks greedy and some on. mani ? log style of ebay, expensive ram horn or topmount? now for the turbo, i know ebay is the devil for turbos ill stay clear. id like to source a turbo for a junk yard car, talon/eclipse maybe a volvo, turbo lag wouldn't bug me at all id rather have alot of turbo left then be running a small turbo on the edge.

i want to over build for my hp level, my hp goal is 200
is my block build idea ok ?
head/cam ok?
vx or dx trans
does anyone know a good tuner around st. paul/ minn MN
what should i run for tuning,crome?

i know its a long post with alot a questions but like i said im new to honda's