Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a new Pioneer DEH-P5900ib deck for my 93 Civic EX
I spliced everything to the harness I bought and connected all the harnesses correctly, when I went to turn it on there is absolutely no power coming to it. I checked for blown fuses, nothing there. I tried re-splicing the power wire between the factory harness and pioneer harness.

Only things I can think of right now:
1) The blue remote wire from the Pioneer is connected to an unmarked, yet blue wire from the Honda harness.
2) Head unit is fried
3) Some wires aren't/are connected that should/shouldn't be connected

Some suggestions on what might be wrong would help a TON.
I have already put my factory head unit back into the harness just to narrow the problem and it powered on fine. I think that I have a wire connection issue.
 

·
Registered
1990 Si Hatch
Joined
·
518 Posts
Just go over everything from the beginning. Make sure your power and ground wires are good. Unless you have a power antenna, you can cut and cap blue. Blue/white is amp turn on, blue is power ant. Orange and orange white should be illumination, you can cap those. I've run into instances where illumination wires cause problems. So, cap all blues and all oranges. If that doesn't work then you may want to think about getting a new radio.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What exactly is illumination? I just would rather know WHY I am doing this stuff.

Sort of like teach a man to fish, ya feels?
 

·
Registered
1990 Si Hatch
Joined
·
518 Posts
To the best of my knowledge illumination tries to tie into your vehicles illumination. When you dim the lights on your dash, the radio would dim. I am not 100% sure about that but I've always been taught to ignore them. Never had a problem leaving them out.
 

·
Registered
1990 Si Hatch
Joined
·
518 Posts
Hmm... well there isn't much to screw up with a radio install. If all your wiring is good then I'd say you need a new radio. As far as harnesses go... well I am sure you're aware it's just a matter of color matching to the radio harness. All that said... that leaves you with...

2) Head unit is fried
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Yeah, I work at Best Buy so it isn't that big of a deal. It's just that I've been up there too many times today. And I have to work tomorrow...I'm thinking I'll just let my buddies take my car while I'm at work and see if they can get it to work
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Could it have anything to do with the ground wires? Was I supposed to splice those together or ground both of them?
 

·
Registered
1990 Si Hatch
Joined
·
518 Posts
Yeah, I work at Best Buy so it isn't that big of a deal. It's just that I've been up there too many times today. And I have to work tomorrow...I'm thinking I'll just let my buddies take my car while I'm at work and see if they can get it to work
lol funny. I work at BB too. Autotech Wo0t!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
K so I'm just going to return the deck and exchange for the same one, see if I can get this thing to work.

I probably just didn't do something right while I was installing. The harness is all hooked up right now and I'll disconnect the battery this time -.-
 

·
Registered
1990 Si Hatch
Joined
·
518 Posts
K so I'm just going to return the deck and exchange for the same one, see if I can get this thing to work.

I probably just didn't do something right while I was installing. The harness is all hooked up right now and I'll disconnect the battery this time -.-
As I said before, there is very little to mess up with a radio install. In our shop we don't even disconnect the negative terminal. I would take it back and have them test it in the install bay. If it really is messed up, at least you know it wasn't you. As far as the radio turning on... you only need 3 wires. So if all your power wires are good and your ground is good and your key is turned, you'll get power.
 

·
R2.....Zap Balls
94 Ex coupe
Joined
·
5,186 Posts
To the best of my knowledge illumination tries to tie into your vehicles illumination. When you dim the lights on your dash, the radio would dim. I am not 100% sure about that but I've always been taught to ignore them. Never had a problem leaving them out.
lol funny. I work at BB too. Autotech Wo0t!
The illumination wires on the radios can do 2 things, they either dim the radio lights or actually trigger lights on the radio to come on. You do this for a living and don't know this? For the op, you can get a cheap test light from bb or even a auto parts store. Clip one end to ground and check the the red and yellow wires on the harness for power. The yellow will be hot all the time and the red will be hot when the ign is on. If your factory radio works fine on the harness, I'd say it's a radio problem. If you get the new deck and it still doesn't work, try taking the ground wire from the radio harness to a good ground and see how that does.
 

·
Live,love,laugh,be real
96' Accord Wagon
Joined
·
5,973 Posts
sorry if this was already coverd...

yellow goes to a constant hot source (+)

red goes to ignition on source (+)

black of coarse is chassis ground (-)

did you also check the back of the radio for a fuse, sometimes they are there and it could be blown, also check the inline fuse...
 

·
Registered
1990 Si Hatch
Joined
·
518 Posts
You do this for a living and don't know this?
I wouldn't say I do it for a living. Luckily I don't need this job, I just want to learn as much as possible about car audio. I've always been told to cap the illumination wires because they don't matter... and in the grand scheme of things... they don't.
 

·
R2.....Zap Balls
94 Ex coupe
Joined
·
5,186 Posts
I wouldn't say I do it for a living. Luckily I don't need this job, I just want to learn as much as possible about car audio. I've always been told to cap the illumination wires because they don't matter... and in the grand scheme of things... they don't.
unless it's required to make the lights for the buttons on the head unit to come on ;).
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top