Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
FN2
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I've just bought my 16 year old an EJ9 as his first car and our project for about the next year until he can drive.
The plan is to nut and bolt it, strip it out etc as he likes the Kanjo style of things.
I'm not expecting miracles from the little 1.4 engine but I've found some interesting bits and pieces on line like the Dodo upgrades. Are these held in high regard?
I'm a self taught home garage mechanic with some basic skills and experience in engine building with old stuff like mini's and Ford Pinto's.
I'm thinking of doing the usual bits like polishing the throttle body, a light skim and match porting the head after a head and valve clean up.

·
Registered
FN2
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi guys,
Will have a read on how to do the pics.
I've been looking round for the bits to do the dodo mods but they aren't easy to find so far. May just be easier to buy and swap one of the smaller vtec's but that wasn't the plan. May just do the IM and an eBay mani, decat and exhaust.
i take it my basics ideas are ok and worth while on this engine? I've read the cc of the combustion chambers are something ridiculous like 34?
How much is safe to skim without causing problems?
I'm busy wet sanding the and compounding the panels at the moment though.

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
4,104 Posts
forum is slow on weekends, but welcome to d-so. if you have a photobucket, or any image hosting site, you can copy the img code and paste it here with a space or 2 in it and I can come back and edit it to work, until you get your minimum posts up to par.

·
Registered
FN2
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ok,will do.
Any thoughts on my engine plans or am I going the wrong way. All I read about is swapping and bolt on's?

·
Registered
FN2
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Ha, yeah I know. He's learning though.
We've done oil, filter and plugs. Breaking him gently.