Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Cliff notes at bottom for people that don't like to read :D

I've got a 93' civic LX 5speed, with 252,xxx miles on it. I have no records of the car. When I bought it I changed the spark plugs, cap, rotor, valve cover gasket, right front tie rod ends, front coil springs, installed a few poly bushings in the front lower control arms, and brake master cylinder.

The parts I've got, but haven't installed yet are; a d16z6 intake plenum, throttle body gaskets, intake manifold gaskets, PCV valve, OEM fuel filter, and short ram intake. I also need to replace the oil pan, do to it being dented to hell from the previous owner. Then I need to figure out whats leaking from the back of the engine below the intake plenum.

I have access to my own lift, tools, and discount from dealerships/autoparts stores in the area.

The car runs and drives great (minus torn RTAB's). I'm pretty new to actually working on Hondas, so I'm just looking for a few helpful tips from fellow d-sereis owners on what I should do to keep the ol' d15b7 running strong.

Cliffs,
1) What kind of things should I be replacing/looking for while I have the intake plenum and oil pan off?
2) What are some general maintenance items/typical problems for a high milage (250k+) D-series?
3) Where are some good places to purchase OEM Honda parts online?

Thanks in advance everyone!

-Ethan

PS. Tried searching through the first 10 pages that "maintenance" came up with.

·
Registered
my Skateboard
1,945 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Awesome thanks for the quick reply :)

·
Registered
97 Honda Civic
1,784 Posts
The oil leak could be coming from the black box that the PCV is plugged into (for lack of a better word). I've seen quite a few of them leaking or rusted through.