Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, first off, I'm sooo sorry if this is not the place to be posting this (my first day on this forum), secondly I have a few questions about a car that I will be buying. Alright here we go, I am no honda expert and have never even owned one (although i do love them and have been researching everything i can find about them for around 3 years as if i did own one lol) but I'm about to purchase my first honda. It is a 92 civic EX (D16z6 if I'm not mistaken), it has been owned by a friend of mine for the past year who has done some very mild work to it. I'm going to structure this post like this: 1) plans for the car 2) current state of the car 3) what I should do to the car now.

1) PLANS FOR THE CAR okay the plan is to clean it up and run it with some bolt ons (H/I/E) for prob the next year while i can save up for either a B18 swap or a nice turbo set up on my D series, I just need to get everything in nice working order for now without wasting extra $$ in places that I don't need to.

2)CURRENT STATE OF THE CAR so my friend (who is somehow a mechanic) has had the car and has done "work" to it. the car currently has ZERO exhaust, its literally the stock manifold with the down pipe then the stock cat, pipe and muffler have fallen off, there is nothing. He says he has put in an aftermarket (60'ish mm) throttle body, cleaned the injectors and rigged up the most ghetto intake I have ever seen. I test drove the car yesterday and from what I experienced the car has NO low end power, like nothing before 3.5k to 4k RPM, i chalked this up to there being no exhaust on the car, also in any gear when your cruising if you feather the gas the car jerks back and forth, I don't think its a clutch issue because it seems to only do it in the 2k-4k rpm range when you let on or off the gas, other than that the car runs fine.