Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a little new to the honda world! so here is my build

i have a 1990 honda crx hf with the d16z6 it had a back yard turbo set up so i ripped it all off and picked up a new set up

d16z6
si tranny
450cc dsm injectors
t3/t4 to4e turbo
ramhorn manifold
huge front mount
bbk timing gear
snow perormance water/injection
safc controller
greddy in cab boost controller
and so on!

my tuning will be done by a local shop "kaizenspeed"

now here is my questions? will the to4e turbo be too much for the little sohc??? i plan to run 10+ psi for now and once summer comes 15+ psi

I am having problems with the intercoller piping got any pics i can see??

·
insert user title here
3,014 Posts
no it shouldnt be too much. if your motor isnt built, or you dont plan on it you might find it laggy.
you goals shouldnt be "10psi" or "15psi".
with a stock bottom end dont expect much more than around 200hp.
i know Reid, and he's a damn good tuner who will focus more on a good torque curve.
if you dont plan on building you bottom end up you might consider a t3 .48/.60 which should reach your gaols while spooling up a bit quicker.
the hybrid turbo will be fine. in fact it will make the same power levels with less psi due to its greater cfm. it will just be more lag because of its larger size.

talk to Reid about this, he knows his shit.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well i got this car and pulled off the oil pan and found out that the rods have been cleaned up and shoppinned and the pistons from the bottom looked to be forged! no casting. the motor has less than 50k

it had a had a smaller turbo on it and i ran 12-15psi for a few weeks and no problems! well besides the turbo could no take it. i plan to pull the motor out soon after i get it running and build it.

srp pistons
eagle rods
comp cam/ valve springs
skunk 2 intake manifold/thottle body
and turn up my water/methonal injection