Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first swap/build for a car. so im learning as i go. To make this short and simple as possible ill just skip most the details.. I bought a JDM d15b vtec from an importer. Some of you probably know that because ive been posting a few threads about info and help with it lately. I spent most of the weekend taking it apart. Here what it looked like under the valve cover..

Im not an engine expert but i know that does look kinda bad.. very gunked up. what do you guys think? clean it up the best i can, and once its back into my car use Motor flush and see what it can do? I donno. I mean the the compression is awesome on this engine. i haven't actually done a compression test. but spinning the crank and feeling it compared to my stock dx engine with 196k miles on it, there is a big difference. but i wasnt expecting it to look this dirty...

After taking the oil pan off..

·
yEaH tHaT gUy!!!
my hatchy
3,177 Posts
you bought this from an importer? that looks like its got a lot of miles on it. i would flush the motor and do a compression test on it to see where your motor is at.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yup, Tiger Auto to be exact.

which claims 35-50k miles on their engines. "claims"

can i do a compression test while its on the stand? wouldn't it need to be turned over a few times quickly for it to be accurate?

·
()*#$(*$
93 Legend L Coupe.
11,404 Posts
It has had enough oil, just crappy oil or not changed as frequently as it should have been. Compression tests are easier with a starter in place. You can do the test if you have a spare tranny and starter and battery. :p

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
so what do you guys think i should do. clean it up the best i can and once the engine is back in the car do an engine flush? From what i heard, engine flushes work really good at getting all this gunk out.

·
Registered
94 civic dx sedan