Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey i'm new to the forums-
Been looking around for a great car that has good MPG from factory and some mods to make it more efficent, currently i have a saab 93 and its a bit thirsty. but on the highway not that much, 7-8L/100km ( highway) speed 100-120km/h

been looking for a honda especially the old ones because i see that they have real good fuel economy for their age, so im kinda hooked for one.
i know that there are alot of threads about this but doesn't feel like i get a straight answer, im kinda new to hondas.

is there a way on a budget we say for an example 1000 USD to make the D-series more fuel efficent? with out touching the motor that much?
and which D series should i aim for? people say HX for fuel efficeny or CRX but those cars is kinda hard to find here in sweden haven't seen one for sale for a while. so im more intrested for a civic ( IDK if HX CRX is trim levels or not from factory )

the information i've gatherd so far from other threads about this topic is

• high compression
  • new block / transmission
  • lean burning tune
  • strip the car for lower weight
-vtec stage 3

Hope you guys understand my frustration :)

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,267 Posts
Transzex will probably comment in this since he’s had experience with hyper miling in a crx
Or maybe not.

Built motor/high compression is not needed. Stock D15B7 is just fine. Add easy bolt on's, no need to remove the head, easy 50+ mpg. Also easy to get 33 whp with just those easy bolt-ons.

D15Beast7, the legend, was copied a few times and the output number were the same 115-118 whp.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
that's very nice to hear that i dont need to touch the motor that much.
but i haven't seen any motor with the D15B7 selling yet on the websites im looking at ( blocket as call in sweden ) aka craiglist ish.