Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
CRX ECODiesel Ram
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am currently running a crane 0012 cam.
I have about 12 to 1 compression isky springs Edelbrock Performer performer intake Edelbrock 65 millimeter throttle body 3 inch intake with velocity stack Skunk2 Alpha header.

How much power am I leaving on the table? Would I see a good game going to a Colt Tri flow 2 or an even bigger cam? I don't want the absolute peakiest powerband cam but I'm fine with the loss of power off idle.

·
Registered
Love the Civic
1,817 Posts

·
Registered
Integra DB9
445 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think going for a bigger cam might make it even lumpier unless in the higher end of the rev range.

That said, is this for a road car or a track car?

·
Registered
CRX ECODiesel Ram
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I street drive it, no track days planned (i also have an 01 accord and 15 ram ecodiesel to drive if i need more refinement). I am ok with losing a clean idle and off idle power. I mostly suspect that I can get a bit more top end and not lose too much bottom end due to my compression being so much higher than stock. I have read of guys being very happy with the Crane 0012 cam I am running (i am one of them) but it seems most of them were not running as much compression as I am.

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,748 Posts
I ran a 0012 and 0016 on the street, got 53 mpg with the 0016, all on stock compression.

Blundell just tossed a tune at it, but you can see where the stock valve springs gave up.

I had idle issues but that was mostly from the Gude TB that the butterfly plate wasn't fitted right.

On a NASA built D16A6 the skunk2 intake was worth 8 whp with some TQ gains as well.

·
Retired From Hondas
2,796 Posts
Ive ran both the 0012 and 0016 in my B20. I havent really run any other brands of cams, but i was pretty happy with the results.