Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1998 lx
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First time posting, about to start ordering parts for a mini-me swap. I have a '98 d16y7 with cold air intake, decent exhaust system and a few other new oem parts to keep everything running smooth. I am not looking to race or achieve crazy hp, just to have a lively n/a daily driver.

I have found a number of threads on how to complete the swap, but I am still hesitant to take it on being that I am a backyard mechanic noob and this will be my first time popping off the head of an engine. What I am looking for is some advice on which brands might be better for certain parts, and also any personal experiences related to this project.

Parts list:
d16y8 vtec head
d16y8 gasket set (oem or aftermarket?)
d16y8 timing belt
new water pump
new ecu (p28 or p2p?)
original block milled, polished, ported

Questions:
Can I still use my existing intake manifold from the y7 on the y8 head?
I have no catalytic convertor since I have the downpipe from an ex on my lx...with the new ecu, will the car be able to pass emissions after the swap?

After this project is finished, I do plan to upgrade the cam, flywheel and transmission to get the most out of these upgrades (and potentially some piston/block work if funds allow for it)

·
Registered
44 Posts
Stick to oem gasket/seals imo

P28

Don't see why you couldn't use the IM

Need a cat

Obviously it's your personal choice but IMO if your going to put this kind of work into the block you should just go with a full swap y8,a6,z6

·
Registered
2,286 Posts
d16y8 gasket set (oem or aftermarket?) - OEM
new ecu (p28 or p2p?) - chipped P28 for that additional flexibility when you perform further upgrades that demand something more than a stock tune

work on your oil pump to make it flow better, too, or just get a Z6 oil pump. and if possible, use a Z6 crank. better lubrication.

·
Registered
1998 lx
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4