Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So im new to honda's and vtec in general and my motor knowledge isent amazing but over the last 5 months iv learned ALOT.
Now please don't flame me i did search alot about this build but cant exactly gather everything im seeing some saying its a horrible build some saying its not worth the money and some say its good with a nice bump in HP .

I have a d15b7 non vtec in my 4 door civic LX , i have a chance to buy skunk2 Sohc cam gear , SOHC vtec head basically bare includes solenoid, stock cam and gear, and valve cover, no rockers for 100$
Is this a good buy ?
And would it be worth it swapping this on to my engine ? i know i will need a new ECU and a harness and seals . What kind of troubles can i run in to if i do this ? and would i need anymore then the above listed stuff.

Thanks alot

·
FF Misfit
4,881 Posts
W/ the cam gear it's not a horrible deal but I'd look for a head w/ the rockers. What are your plans for the car?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I wasent really looking to make the car that fast just nice and clean looking but afew hundred dollars wouldent bother me if i got vtec out of it .

·
FF Misfit
4,881 Posts
I've got the B7 in my sedan for right now as well. If you just want to give it a little more pep here's what I'd do.

I/H/E (intake, header, exhaust)
Z6 Intake Manifold (z6 = sohc vtec)
Bisi Stage 2 Cam
Springs & Retainers
Adj Cam Gear

After that, switching to the Z6 or Si trans wouldn't hurt either. If all of this isn't enough you can always either spray it or boost it. Be careful when taking advice from me though as I have a tendency to get extremely carried away on all my builds.

·
Well?
10,814 Posts
lol i agree with jake, but you will need a re-tune with the Bisi Stg.2 cam. YOu could just run a D16A6 cam with a Y7/Y8 cam gear for a cheaper alternative but still nice gains. And def. do the trans swap

·
Registered
24 Posts