Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
91 Hatch rally car
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
SI large bearing box in our rally car.

We chucked in the full MFactory close ratio set (new 1st, OEM 2nd, new 3rd, 3rd turned into 4th, new 5th) with a full rebuild kit. Everything but 5th is working great. Shifts smooth, runs quiet, ratios are super for what we do.

Here's the issue. 5th howls like crazy and is getting worse. Half of the 5th gear pair is part of the input shaft, so the gear kit came with only a new intermediate shaft gear. We put it all back together using all the gears that came with the kit. Clearances were set to oem specs using a dial indicator and the FSM for how to do it.

I'm the first to say that I'm not a pro at rebuilding transmissions, but I've been in more than a few with pretty good success. Did I miss something? Was there a new input shaft I needed to get? The other gear pairs are quiet (for straight cut gears). I want to use the shorter 5th, but not if it's going to grenade.
Hopefully smarter people can help me here.

Added for your interest. We just got back from Rocky Mountain Rally in Cochrane Alberta. https://rockymountainrally.com/
P3 in class, 5 seconds behind P2. We got cock blocked by a bunch of cows on the 4th stage that cost us a new pair of undies and probably 20 seconds.

·
Registered
93 Civic HB SI
1,722 Posts
SI large bearing box in our rally car.

We chucked in the full MFactory close ratio set (new 1st, OEM 2nd, new 3rd, 3rd turned into 4th, new 5th) with a full rebuild kit. Everything but 5th is working great. Shifts smooth, runs quiet, ratios are super for what we do.