Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
im new to civics and turbos but ive read alot and it sounds like they go good togeather. i have a 93si coupe with a z6 and want to get alittle more power out of it.

My dad has a mint 86 svo mustang 2.3 turbo. aswell he had bought a few parts cars and such. these cars came with 3 different trim turbos but we have many atleast one of each.

where i live there isnt access to any dyno and getting the car tuned would be a long drive.

i want this to be cheap and somewhat reliable my goal isnt high, i would be happy with 160hp or anywhere close. if i install one of these turbos and set it up for roughly 5 pounds will the computer work fine?? would it be reliable?? i see alot of people looking to get 200+hp with boost on a stock motor. is there anything internal wise that could be a problem. aswell my dad did mention i would need some sort of higher fuel pump or regulator or something?

any help is appreciated

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
FORD Mustang GT 85-86 2.3L GAR TB0344
FORD Mustang GT/T-bird 83-84 GAR (AiR) TB0344

FORD T-Bird 85-86 2.3L (auto) GAR (AiR) TB0344 (45 trim oil only)
FORD T-Bird 85-86 2.3L (Manual) GAR (AiR) TB03 60 trim (watercooled)
FORD T-Bird 87-88 (water) IHI RHB52

·
Premium Member
985 Posts
Why is it when ever someone wants to boost there car they say I want to go cheap?!?! I would diff look to be making the drive to the dyno unless you know how to street tune. You can run 8 lbs safely on a bone stock Z6.

Before you do this cheap build read a little more in to it. GL

·
Registered
65 Posts
You could probably do it but you'd need an upgraded fuel pump and an FMU of some sort minimum.

Not familiar with mustang turbos and I'm not sure you will be able to boost only 5 psi with the stock waste gate but you can always put an external on there.