Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Civic Si (EM1)
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
And so begins my long build. This is my first build, I am aiming to build a reliable turbo powered civic. So far, everything is stock on this car. I bought it used less than a year ago (after owning a 97 EX, and an 86 Si). When I mean everything is stock, I mean I found the most original used car I could complete with the factory radio/cd player, optional Honda floor mats, and all the trunk lining. Every code on every part of the body matches.

My idea for the build started because I wanted to improve fuel consumption. I, like most of my noob companions debated intakes, headers, exhausts to achieve this goal. And then I began learning things on this site--various build threads, engine building section, forced induction and the n/a section all kinda pointed me in the direction of turbocharging. I also have a slight excuse to open up the engine--one of the bolts on the valve cover is snapped in the engine head, probably because whoever owned the car before over torqued it. That's my excuse and I am sticking with it.

My plan so far:

-Street kit from Go-Autoworks
-Garrett t3
-Forged pistons (debating Arias and Wiseco--still learning about calculating c/r)
-Forged Rods
-I want a compression ratio no lower than 9.5:1. My horsepower goals are between 250 and 280. I don't want to get crazy--this will be a daily driven street car used for commuting, long-distance driving, and the usual. I have no desire to drive this car in straight lines.

I am open to suggestions and advice for sure, as I will be trying a lot of new stuff.

·
Registered
1999 Civic Si (EM1)
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2