Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok... so I've been building N/A Ds for about 5 years and now I am going to switch to a FI setup. I am planning on something small like a T3 at 8-10 psi. (like .75 bar for some of you out there) However, I unfortunately understand very little about turbos. I've read several sites FI sections and been to places like Homemadeturbo.com and read all about Johnnyracecar.com and things like that.

So here's my REAL question.... Is there any good sites that you guys can recommend that explains each unit of the turbo (IE the IC, bov, difference between Garret and kkk turbo manufactures, things like that...) I've googled and gotten page after page of generally vague crap and all of the GOOD sites assume prior knowledge to a slight degree. I have someone helping me with this build who has 2 turbo cars (One home built) but he claims he can't really explain.

Sorry in advance for my NEWBAGE. I promise I am stll researching while waiting for help.

·
Registered
'95 Civic dx
835 Posts

·
Registered
1,374 Posts
there isn't much/anything to know about IC's and BOV's; any bov will work (even eBay ones have been proven to be fine for HMT kits) and for only 8-10psi, and FMIC will be adequate (just don't get one that is too huge).

If you just want a small t3; buy one of eBay. There is really no point in paying for a NEW garrett/kkk/etc turbo of that size (a nice t3/t4 is a differnet story...)

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
I have maximum boost in my roommate's room, just haven't gotten to that. He said that he'll explain the book. Being that it is my car and I have to do the work, I'd like to know what I am getting into but he has already built a Scion tC turbo and it runs strong at about 260whp. I trust him, but still want to know more.