Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been getting accustomed to my newly installed JRSC (bone stock) with a BTC wired in but not engaged (dialed down to 0 retard), and the JR stock 6 degree retard dialed in statically thru the distributor.

Once I get the time to get the BTC on the line, what will it bring to the table coming from a static retard? I know with it dialed at 1 deg retard/lb of boost (I'm at the stock 6lb pulley), I can (theoretically) reset the distro timing back to stock (16deg BTDC) and allow the BTC to retard timing according to boost. Is this something I can do myself (mind you, I'm a noob-king at this, but learning fast), or should I bring it into a tuner?

I figure that at no boost, I should get some driveability back from the static retard I have not (there's a small bit of hesitation at light throttle, I think).

Awaiting my education...

PM

·
Lifetime Awesome Member
'89 CRX HF
25,544 Posts
why not just get a chipped ecu and drive it like a stock vehicle with no timing issues?

less sacrifice, more gain

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That's what I thought the unanimous answer would be. I'm going to have to learn up on chipping and tuning ECU's. Is there any "drop and drive" ECU solutions out there for a bone stock install of a JRSC on a D16z6? I'm sure there is, just haven't found one. The Hondata pre-programmed S300 on the JRSC website is WAY too expensive.

What cost am I looking at to get a tuner to tweak a newly installed ECU? I've heard $150/hr on a dyno... that sound right? I'm thinking the DIY route on tuning just isn't for me at this point...

PM

·
Registered
4 Posts