Registered
92dx-turbo 92cx-pimp
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im torn between the choice of
air to water
or
a basic heat exchanger

im more knowledgeable with turbo's this is my first time doing a supercharged set-up

ive seen a few different types. on looks like a radiator and has npt ports for cooling hoses and another just as a heat exchanger that looks like an intercooler and third an in-line 3in dual ported air to water 5x5x15 style with npt ports on the shaft to allow as a cooling chamber.

i have a buddy that did a water cooling setup like this and i wonder if i would be better going this route? haha

any input is welcomed.

i plan to make this an efficiant daily commuter with a 3.8in stock pulley so 6-8psi is all it will ever hit unsure as to what psi it will actually be

·
Meat Popsicle
91 CRX Si
2,936 Posts
What do you mean by a basic heat exchanger?

Assuming that you plan on going with a modified JRSC setup, a water-to-air intercooler with a custom manifold is about the only option.

Water/alcohol injection is also a good choice for the JRSC since it only requires drilling a few holes and installing the jets, reservoir, pump, and plumbing/wiring.

·
Registered
92dx-turbo 92cx-pimp
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What do you mean by a basic heat exchanger?

Assuming that you plan on going with a modified JRSC setup, a water-to-air intercooler with a custom manifold is about the only option.

this is what im referring to is it pointless with a stock jrsc?

ive been debating if i should get a modified manifold made like the one pictured above with a cooling tube, i feel like intake temp will be ridiculous daily driving it and possibly heat soak the motor.

i really dont want to do methanol, then again a heat exchanger almost seems pointless to me without any sort of cooling plate

·
Registered
92dx-turbo 92cx-pimp
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
water meth would be most cost effect way. its what i did. but spun a bearing before i could use it lol.